Simple Vegan Meal For Beginners

I’ve been dabbling with the vegan lifestyle for over a year now and I am loving it even though I’m a 90 – 10 vegan because I refuse to have to be a drama queen during family gatherings. Often I share my vegan food snaps in my stories and many people request that I share the recipes so I have decided to do just that!

Watch the following video and let me know if you are going vegan this Veganuary or if you are gonna try any of these recipes. I’ve shared them down below for ease of reference.

Sweet Potato Fries

3 large sweet potatoes

Oil

Salt

Pepper

Method: Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Toss the sweet potato strips in the oils salt and pepper lay them out on the baking tray and bake for 30 mins until crispy

Sauteed Green Beans

350g Green beans (with the ends cut off)

500ml boiling water

1 Tbl spoon Margarine/oil

Salt and pepper Place

500ml boiling water in a pan

Method: Put in the green beans and bring to a rapid boil until the water evaporates. When the water is almost all gone then season the beans and add the fat to saute them for 3 mins.

Spinach

Half a large onion chopped

400g Spinach

Garlic

Salt, pepper, oil

Method:  Tear the spinach into small pieces. Brown the onion on medium heat and then add the torn spinach to wilt for 5 mins. Once wilted add the fat and season to taste.

Basic Chickpea stew

Half a large onion chopped

1 tbl spn Tomato paste

1 tsp Garlic

1 tsp Curry powder

1 tsp Vegetable Stock powder

100ml Coconut water

1 Can Chickpeas

Method: Brown onions on medium heat Add Tomato paste, Curry and vegetable stock and fry for 5 mins. Add Chickpeas with the brine and stir. Add Coconut water and simmer for 10 mins

*Tip if the meal is too salty add some honey to taste to balance out the salt

Enjoy!

Leave a comment